Home > Molecular gastronomy, Spherification > Molecular Gastronomy – Goji caviar tiny spheres

Molecular Gastronomy – Goji caviar tiny spheres

So today I decided to make goji caviar. I really wanted to just make a sphere out of a regular dried up goji berry. So, what I needed for this recipe/experiment was 1.8 g sodium alginate, 1.3 calcium citrate, and 6.5 calcium chloride. The first step was to prepare the goji mixture. For this, all I did was simply blend 500 g of goji berries in my vita-mix. The end result was 250 g of goji pulp (after passing the mixture through a chinos).

Next, I blended the calcium citrate with 250 g of water and added the sodium alginate until blended well. i placed this mixture in a saucepan and heated it up until boil constantly stirring. I allowed the mixture to cool at room temperature and once cold I added the goji puree and mixed.

For the Calcium chloride bath I mixed 1000g of water with 6.5 g of calcium chloride. I placed the mixture aside and kept it ready for the goji mixture.

  1. April 20, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    IS there more to this process? It looks so interesting – I would love to know how to complete…Blessings, Siri Chand

  2. January 8, 2011 at 4:10 am

    There is not so much to this process. All you need to do is shred the fruit into a puree. Pass it through a chinois or fine mesh superbag. Next preform regular spherification and you got the starter mix. Next, get yourself a syringe from your local pharmacy. I ask for the dog friendly syringes (they are usually smaller) and I fill it up with the mixture. i introduce tiny drops to the calic bath and you get caviar. Awesome!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

