Home > Emulsions, Molecular gastronomy > Molecular Gastronomy – Emulsions Shriek hemp butter

Molecular Gastronomy – Emulsions Shriek hemp butter

By Chef Tali Clavijo

So today I decided I wanted to experiment with converting liquid oils into solids. How was I going to preform this experiment? Well, I decided to use the monoglyceride flakes from the ‘Texturas” line called Glice. These flakes are obtained from glycerin and fatty acids. Similar to oil, it must be broken down with a fatty element and then allowed to emulsify.

Hemp oil and glice - click to learn more or buy

The monoglyceride flakes look like this

Monoglyceride flakes - click to learn more

For this recipe I simply measured about 100ml of hemp oil and 6g of Glice

Hemp oil in lquid form - get it here

After I measure out my ingredients I simply combined them in a saucepan

Glice flakes into hemp oil - learn more buy clicking on pic

and warmed up the oil until the monoglyceride flakes completely dissolved into the oil. This happens at around 65ºC. Your new mixture should look like this

New hemp oil mixture

Next, I transferred my mixture to a different container and placed it in a bath with ice stirring constantly until the oil begins to take body.

Placing the new mixture into an ice bath

Once the oil began to take form, I stuck it in the fridge for about 12hours, or until it acquires a texture that can be worked with the spatula.

The final hemp butter could be used as a spread and tastes amazing!

hemp butter

look at how it spreads…totally transformational!

I cannot believe it's hemp butter

Feel free to ask me any questions at molecularfood@gmail.com

Your friend,

Chef Tali Clavijo

  1. January 15, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Sooo cool, I’m your #1 fan !!! … this kinda reminds me of Shreik .. my kids think it’s soooo coool !! hehe 🙂

  2. Елена
    July 29, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    Hi, Tali! i want to prepare such spread with olive oil/thyme/dried tomatoes. in what stage would your recommend me to add tomatoes and is it necessary to make ice bath?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

